Department of Slavic Languages,
Georgetown University (US)

Department of Modern Languages and Literatures, Montclair State University (US)

The Pushkin Club (UK)

The Scotland-Russia Forum (UK)

Russian American Cultural Center (US)


Marina Boroditskaya (Russia)
Robert Chandler (UK)
Peter Daniels (UK)
Boris Dralyuk (US)
Sibelan Forrester (US)
Peter France (UK)
Alyssa Gillespie (US)
Ellen Hinsey
J. Kates (US)
Grigory Kruzhkov (Russia)
Angela Livingstone (UK)
Irina Mashinski (US)
Grigory Starikovsky (US)
Alexander Veytsman (US)

Compass Award Director
Alexander Veytsman (US)
Bella Award

Compass Translation Award:
2016 Bella Akhmadulina Competition

The 2016 Compass Award competition is dedicated to the poetry of BELLA AKHMADULINA (1937-2010).

Bella Akhatovna Akhmadulina was a Russian poet and translator, who belonged to the Thaw generation of Russian poets that gained prominence during the 1950s, in the aftermath of Stalins death. She was famous for appearing at packed stadiums and auditoriums, together with other poets of her generation, Yevgeny Yevtushenko (her first husband), Andrei Voznesensky, and Robert Rozhdestvensky. These poetry recitals represented an act of freedom and fresh air for thousands of Akhmadulinas contemporaries.

Among her well-known poetry collections were The String (1962), Music Lessons (1970), Dreams of Georgia (1977), and many others. The themes of Akhmadulinas poetry mainly focus on friendship and love, heavily relying on rhymed quatrains. While not known for political poetry, she was in fact an informal sympathizer of the dissident movement, having assisted in the creation of the scandalous Metropol Almanac in 1979 and voicing support for Andrei Sakharov.

According to The New York Times, Akhmadulina was "always recognized as one of the Soviet Union's literary treasures and a classic poet in the long line extending from Lermontov and Pushkin.

This year Compass Award enters its sixth year, with prior competitions dedicated to Nikolay Gumilev, Marina Tsvetaeva, Maria Petrovykh, Arseny Tarkovsky, and Boris Slutsky.

First prize: The Compass and 300 USD; Second prize: 150 USD; Third prize: 100 USD.

All winning entries will be published in both the Cardinal Points Journal and the Storony sveta literary annual.

The deadline to submit translations of Bella Akhmadulina's poems is December 15, 2016. Please kindly adhere to the following submission guidelines. If you have any questions, please email

  1. One translated poem per entry (participants choice). Team entries are allowed.

  2. The translation, along with the Russian original, should be sent via email both in the body of the message and as an attached Word file at the Compass Contest email address ( with the words Akhmadulina Contest in the subject line.

  3. Participants name, mailing address, telephone number, and email address should appear only on the cover page of the Word file.

  4. The contest entry fee is $20 per entry paid online through the Cardinal Points donation page. If for any reason political, geographical, or technical you are unable to submit your entry fee, please send a request for a fee waiver to the same address. The organizers consider such waivers as exceptions.

  5. The number of entries is not limited, but each entry is considered separately.

  6. With questions please write to Alexander Veytsman, Compass Award Director at

Please follow us on Facebook.

Compass Translation Award - 2015: Slutsky Competition.

Compass Translation Award - 2014: Tarkovsky Competition.

Compass Translation Award - 2013: Petrovykh Competition.

Compass Translation Award - 2012: Tsvetaeva Competition.
Compass Award - 2011: Gumilev Competition.
Bella Akhmadulina
Bella Akhmadulina

2014 Programming and web design by Stosvet Press
yandex Rambler's Top100