Department of Slavic Languages,
Georgetown University (US)

Department of Modern Languages and Literatures, Montclair State University (US)

The Pushkin Club (UK)

The Scotland-Russia Forum (UK)

Russian American Cultural Center (US)

Marina Boroditskaya (Russia)
Ellen Chances (US)
Robert Chandler (UK)
Peter Daniels (UK)
Sibelan Forrester (US)
Peter France (UK)
Ilya Kaminsky (US)
J. Kates (US)
George Kline (US)
Grigory Kruzhkov (Russia)
Angela Livingstone (UK)
Irina Mashinski (US)
Grigory Starikovsky (US)
Alexei Tsvetkov (US)
Alexander Veytsman (US)

Compass Translation Award:
2011 - Nikolay Gumilyov Competition

The Compass Translation Competition held under the auspices of the Cardinal Points Journal was dedicated this year to the poetry of Nikolay Gumilev. 2011 marks 125 years since the birth of the poet, as well as the 90th anniversary of his execution by the Bolsheviks in 1921. The contest ran from April 15, Nkolay Gumilyov’s birthday, through September 15, 2011. It became a part of the First International Gumilyov Festival.

The contest was judged by the panel of 15 translators and scholars, all of them authors of the Cardinal Points journal. The prize money was partially donated by the Department of Slavic Languages & Literatures, Princeton University.

The contest drew participants from Australia, Great Britain, New Zealand, Russia and the US. Several strong translations of this difficult-to-translate poet of the Silver Age have been generated.

The First Prize (the Compass) and $250 went to Boris Dralyuk (LA, USA)
The Second Prize and $100 went to Alyssa Gillespie (Notre Dame, USA)
The Third Prize and $50 went to Fyodor Manin (Chicago, USA)

The winning translations are published in both the “Cardinal Points” and “Стороны света” journals, as well as inRussiapedia – a special online encyclopedic project by RT.

The shortlist also included
Larissa Shmailo (USA), the Honorable Mention recipient;
Yakov Smagarinsky (Australia); and
Dina Guseynova (USA).

The official Compass Awards Ceremony and the reading of the winning translations will take place in New York's Bowery Poetry Club on October 30, 2011 at 2pm.

The event will be dedicated to the memory of Stanley Mitchell (1932 - 2011) and  Oleg Woolf (1954 - 2011).

The topic and guidelines for the Compass Translation Award-2012 will be announced on the Compass Award web page in December of 2011.

Переводческая премия Компас - 2011: Гумилевский конкурс.
Русская версия.

Compass Award - 2013: Petrovykh Competition.
'Nikolay Gumilyov
Nikolay Gumilyov
1886 — 1921
© 2012 Programming and web design by Stosvet Press
yandex Rambler's Top100